Independent & United

The Christian Community consists of independent congregations incorporated as nonprofit (charitable) organizations. The priests in eachcongregation have responsibility for what take place sacramentally in their community. Priests’ teaching arises from their priestly experience and insights, and is not required to conform to any dogmatic structure.

In social and financial realms, priests and lay people work together to form a board of trustees and initiative groups. The community does not choose (elect) priests; they are appointed by the leadership of The Christian Community.

Priests are financially supported, not according to performance, age, seniority, or educational background, but according to the resources of the congregation and the needs of the priest and his or her family.

The vocation of priest is full time. Congregations in a geographic area are joined in a “region”. The region is also a nonprofit body. There are several levels of responsibility within the circle of priests to enable helpful cooperation and oversight:

 Priests in the congregations;

• Regional coordinators for the guidance of the work in the regions;

• Central coordinators for the guidance of The Christian Community worldwide (the headquarters is in Berlin, Germany).

In addition to Australia and New Zealand, congregations exist in the United States and Canada, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Columbia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Estonia, Georgia, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland, Hungary, Japan, Namibia, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Russia, Scotland, South Africa, Sweden, and Switzerland.